Breed: Black and Tan Coonhound mix
Sex: Female
Estimated Birth Date: April 2020
Size: Currently 40 pounds, estimated 50 pounds when full grown
Good with kids: yes.  Mia is a little skittish so older children would probably be best.  She is also a jumper (we’re working on correcting this behavior) so she might knock  over little ones
Good with dogs: yes
Good with cats: Unknown, she hasn’t been exposed to them
Housetrained: almost! She has had a couple of accidents when she was scared/startled.  Will signal at door when she wants to go out
Crate trained: yes.  She goes in willingly (loves frozen Kongs filled with peanut butter!) and hasn’t had any accidents in it.  She occasionally whines but stops when told “no”
Recommended Environment: Mia is a snuggler and wants to be with her people.  Yep, she’s a velcro dog.  She also enjoys running and playing so she needs an active family that will keep her busy.  She is a smart dog that will need activity.  She will not do well with being left alone for long periods of time. She needs patience and safe exposure to new people and noises.  We’ve found that treats are effective.
Additional Information: Mia is working on walking and running while on a leash, though she is better with a harness.  She is working on her commands.  She does NOT like bikes but will get better with repeated exposure.



Megan is a 38 lb, 7 month old Lab/Retriever mix puppy. She is such a lover. She loves her toys and loves them more when she is touching people while she plays. She is really smart and would benefit from training activities – she is very good motivated and likes training activities! She is also good at entertaining herself.

She is a busy chewer. We have lots of chew toys around to keep her busy. Outside, she does a lot of exploring with her mouth – she may have some hound in her! Megan is still potty training and is easily distracted. Megan is good with other dogs, but we always encourage she meet other fur-siblings before adoption. She has not been tested with cats.

Megan is crate trained, and she loves her crate and goes in by herself when she’s tired. She is always happy to meet someone who will pet her. Megan is learning her leash manners, as her busy nose and distractibility keeps her from always simply moving forward.

Megan would do best in most homes, but she really does like kids and other dogs, so a home with two and/or four legged siblings would be best. She really likes the outdoors, so an outdoor active home would be best. There really isn’t much Megan doesn’t like, she just really wants to be around her people!



Breed: Hound mix

Sex: male, neutered

Estimated Birthdate: 3/1/2017

Size: medium to large (62 pounds)

Good with kids: yes, but older children would be best

Good with cats: not tested, but most likely not

Good with other dogs: Ryder likes to be the alpha male.  He would do best in a home without other dogs

House trained: yes

Crate trained: yes

Recommended environment: This stunning boy has some issues with separation anxiety.  He bonds STRONGLY with his person and wants to be with them all the time.  Ryder will do best in a home where his person is not gone for long periods of time.  A relatively calm and quiet home is preferred.  He loves his walks and does well on a leash.  He is a smart dog and is learning his basic commands.  He is pretty calm and not much of a barker.

*In Canine-Inmate program*

OneHope Wine Fundraiser

A.D.O.P.T. is hosting a fundraiser with ONEHOPE Wine!  When you use the link below to shop for some delicious ONEHOPE wines, part of your purchase will benefit A.D.O.P.T. and will help us save more lives!  Click the link below to start shopping!


Meet Callie!  She is a snuggler and enjoys playing with her foster sister, napping in the sunlight, exploring the yard, and chasing butterflies.  Her favorite games are tug of war, wrestling, and chase. Callie would do best in a home with another canine companion.  She would prefer if her family wasn’t gone for long stretches of time.  She needs lots of attention and playtime.  Callie was neglected in her former life and will require an experienced dog owner to teach her how to be a dog in a loving home.
Breed: Basset/Beagle mix
Sex: female (spay scheduled for October 13)
Estimated Birth Date: September 1, 2019
Size: Medium, 25-30 pounds
Good with kids: we were told she was
Good with cats: unknown
Good with dogs: yes
Housetrained: in progress
Crate trained: in progress
*In a foster home*



ADOPT recently received an update on Jasper from his fur-ever family.  We hope you enjoy seeing how he’s doing in his new home! 🙂

Jasper has made himself right at home without any issues. He has been very curious, getting used to the layout of the house. Helped himself out with a couple of items from the community ball/chew toy/bone basket last night. Seems fascinated with the neighborhood sounds today.

The “older siblings” are adjusting to the presence of the new one. They get vocal if he sniffs around an area they have previously staked out as their own. Afterwards everyone gets pets for reassurances.

Jasper is already a member of the family. Thank you everyone for getting him here!



Scruffy is a friendly, energetic little guy.  He likes to snuggle but needs to be entertained.  He will do well in an environment with plenty of activity and attention. His favorite things are walks and playing tug of war.  He is currently working on crate training. Until he is fully crate trained, he would do better in a house than an apartment.
Breed: Maltese/Yorkie Mix
Sex: male. neuter (surgery is scheduled for October 1)
Estimated Birth Date: 8/1/2018
Size: toy (weighs 10 pounds)
Good with kids: yes
Good with cats: yes
Good with dogs: wants to make friends but gets nervous with introductions to larger dogs
House trained: yes
Crate trained: in progress



Lola is a 3 month old Lab mix, who is currently about 20 lbs. Lola LOVES to snuggle and give kisses. She likes making new friends and she is so friendly with everyone. Lola hops up the stairs with both front paws at a time and will follow you everywhere around your house. She just wants to be loved! Lola loves her daily walks, but she also loves to sleep – just like a typical puppy. Chewing on her toys or a rawhide is her favorite thing to do. She also likes to go in the car because it means she is going somewhere new! She is still working on her leash etiquette, as she is still a puppy and needs to learn her manners.

Lola is a little timid, and sometimes she is easily frightened by a loud noise or large vehicles. She is getting better every day, but she needs to continue to be exposed to new people, new animals and new experiences. She is fearful of some large dogs initially, but warms up quickly. She has not been exposed to cats. Like any pup, she should be exposed to any new fur-siblings before adoption.

Lola stays in her crate when her foster mom is not home and when sleeping at night. She normally needs a treat as incentive to go into her crate, but quiets down and is getting used to it. Lola is also working on her house-training, but she is still a puppy! She has come a long way in a short time with her foster mom. She has fallen into her routine quickly, and rarely has accidents anymore.

Lola is a typical wiggly, loving puppy. Puppies are a lot of work, and like all puppies, she still needs training and socializing. Lola learns quickly, so she will be a great pup after some training and socializing. She is definitely a couch potato and usually calm, but can be full of energy after a nap. Lola is such a happy, snuggly, playful, and loving dog – she will be great with any family that is the same.

Breed: Lab Mix
Sex: female
Estimated Birth Date: June 2020
Size: currently ~20 pounds
Good with kids: yes
Good with cats: unknown
Good with dogs: timid with larger dogs
House trained: in progress
Crate trained: in progress



Carlos is a 1-2 year old chihuahua mix that we rescued from a high-kill shelter and is in foster.

Oftentimes one of Carlos’ ears will be folded down while the other is up. Carlos is very loving and loves to follow his people everywhere they go. He prefers to be in the same room if not closer to them. He is pretty quiet and only barked once since his foster mom has had him! Carlos likes to go on walks, nap, cuddle, and get plenty of pets. He also likes to eat chicken jerky.

Carlos has not had much socialization, so he is still nervous around other dogs and occasionally growls at them if he feels threatened. As always, we suggest he meet any fur-brothers or sisters prior to adoption. Carlos has not been exposed to cats.

Carlos will stay inside his crate if you put him inside and does not make any noise. Carlos is housebroken and has not had any accidents so far. He will go near the front door when he needs to go outside, although he prefers to go to the bathroom during walks. Speaking of walks – Carlos behaves very well on a leash! He does not really pull unless he sees a squirrel, but doesn’t pull for long. He will stop intermittently during walks when something scares him, but he will continue with some encouragement.

Carlos loves to meet new people, but will be timid meeting new people in the beginning. He quickly warms up though and is ready for cuddles! Carlos will thrive in a home where he can get plenty of love, attention, and pets.

Breed: Chihuahua Mix
Sex: male
Estimated Birth Date: early 2019
Size: small
Good with kids: yes
Good with cats: unknown
Good with dogs: if introduced properly
House trained: yes



Breed: Shiba Inu mix
Sex: Male
Estimated birthdate: July 2019
Size: Medium, ~ 45 lbs
Good with kids: most children, yes
Good with cats: unknown
Housebroken: yes
General information: Jasper is a very sweet, affectionate dog – and that face! His foster dad says he is a “Velcro Dog” and just wants to be where you are! Jasper probably didn’t have the best start to his life, but he’s not letting that get him down. He is not sure what to do with toys yet, so he’s just learning how to play. He is good with kids, but leery of small boys, so he would do best in a home with small girls or older children. Jasper does not like his crate, but he does just fine left out in his foster house. He is a very sweet boy and does great during car rides too! Jasper is ready to be your furever adventure companion, could that be with you?
*In Home Foster*